• Soph

Book Review: Ashes of Aether by Holly Rose (ARC)

"Loving a necromancer's son comes at a perilous price...


As the daughter of Nolderan's most powerful mage, Reyna Ashbourne has only ever faced two obstacles: her father's wrath for slacking with her magic studies, and being shunned by many for loving Arluin, a necromancer's son.


But Reyna's life takes a bitter turn when Arluin's exiled father returns to wreak his vengeance upon the city. With the living dead plaguing the streets, the boy she loves is forced to choose between his heart and his blood.


When those dearest to her perish, Reyna vows to become as mighty as her father. However, the path of the magi is no easy one, and she must first complete her Mage Trials to prove she has the required strength of heart, mind, and magic.


Yet the shadows of the past rise once again, threatening to tear Nolderan asunder.


And so too her heart."


Pages: 396

I received Ashes of Aether by Holly Rose for free in exchange for an honest review as part of a bookstagram tour. Thank you so much for having me on the tour - this review is also available on my Instagram!

Book of Matches Media are also running an international giveaway on Instagram where you can win a copy of Ashes of Aether! Check out my post for more details on how to enter - the giveaway is running until midnight PST on August 9th 2021! Ashes of Aether can also be purchased from here.


Ashes of Aether was an absolutely INCREDIBLE read! As soon as I read the blurb I knew it was going to be the kind of story I would like and it wowed me at every turn. Worldbuilding is one of my favourite elements and it was sensational in this story! Plus, I really enjoyed the magical system throughout the book. Necromancy is an area of magic that I haven't seen much in books so it was really cool and interesting to explore it!


The writing was amazing with such fantastic characters, it is one of the best high fantasy books I've read, I can't wait to see what happens next! Perfect for fans of Midnight's Twins!


Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All