• Soph

Book Review: Cameron Battle & The Hidden Kingdoms by Jamar J. Perry (ARC)

"As the true Descendant, I command to open

The door to Chidani; it shall be broken


Magic awaits those who seek the queen's peace

And all the suffering you feel will cease


Those who open the histories will hear a sound

What was lost has finally been found.


Cameron Battle grew up reading The Book of Chidani, cherishing stories about the fabled kingdom that cut itself off from the world to save the Igbo people from danger. Passed down over generations, the Book is Cameron's only connection to his parents who disappeared one fateful night, two years ago.

Ever since, his grandmother has kept the Book locked away, but it calls to Cameron. When he and his best friends Zion and Aliyah decide to open it again, they are magically transported to Chidani. Instead of a land of beauty and wonder, they find a kingdom in extreme danger, as the Queen's sister seeks to destroy the barrier between worlds. The people of Chidani have been waiting for the last Descendant to return and save them . . . is Cameron ready to be the hero they need?


Inspired by West African and Igbo history and mythology, this adventurous middle-grade fantasy debut perfect for fans of Aru Shah and Tristan Strong celebrates the triumphs and challenges of a boy finding his truth path to greatness."


Pages: 320

 

I received a copy of Cameron Battle & The Hidden Kingdoms by Jamar J Perry for free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much Pride Book Tours and Bloomsbury Children's for my advanced copy and for having me on the tour! 💖

Cameron Battle & The Hidden Kingdoms follows a young boy who discovers a whole new world inside of a book that has been passed down his family for generations. I was immediately drawn into this story with the exciting action and I loved the Percy Jackson references - they were so cute!


The friendship between Cameron, Zion & Aliyah was so sweet and I felt connected to the characters straight away! Plus it was so nice to see their friendship strengthen during the story and the trials they had to face. I really enjoyed following them on this journey as they discover this new world and the way that the author portrayed the pressures that were put on Cameron as the Descendant was done so well. I think it will really resonate with a lot of readers and help them work through it. Also there was a great balance of fun and emotional, impactful moments that made for a fantastic well rounded story!

I loved the mixture of West African and Igbo history and mythology and I am so excited to learn even more! It was so fascinating and was interwoven into the story perfectly. The worldbuilding was so rich and full of glorious detail, plus I loved that it had LGBTQIA+ representation.


Cameron Battle & The Hidden Kingdoms is a brilliant, fast paced story with fantastic imagery that will keep you hooked! I enjoyed it so much I finished it in a day and I’m so excited to see what happens next!

2 views0 comments