• Soph

Book Review: Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by Joya Goffney (ARC)

"Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by debut author Joya Goffney is the story of an overly enthusiastic list maker who is blackmailed into completing a to-do list of all her worst fears. It’s a heartfelt, tortured, contemporary YA high school romance with epistolary elements. Fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Kristina Forest’s debut I Wanna Be Where You Are will love the juicy secrets, leap-off-the-page sexual tension and the enemy-to-lover romantic arc.


Quinn keeps lists of everything—from the days she’s ugly cried, to “Things That I Would Never Admit Out Loud,” to all the boys she’d like to kiss. Her lists keep her sane. By writing her fears on paper, she never has to face them in real life. That is, until her journal goes missing…


An anonymous account posts one of her lists on Instagram for the whole school to see and blackmails her into facing seven of her greatest fears, or else her entire journal will go public. Quinn doesn’t know who to trust. Desperate, she teams up with Carter Bennett—the last known person to have her journal—in a race against time to track down the blackmailer.


Together, they journey through everything Quinn’s been too afraid to face, and along the way, Quinn finds the courage to be honest, to live in the moment, and to fall in love."


Pages: 368

I received Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry by Joya Goffney for free by Hot Key Books YA in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much for this advanced copy!

I must admit, I had a little bit of trouble writing this review because I literally just want to shout "I LOVED THIS" about every single element! Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry is such a brilliant contemporary romance, I can't stop thinking about it! It made me laugh, made me cry and made me absolutely swoon - it had everything I love about romance and more!


Our protagonist is Quinn and I loved her character! She was really engaging. fun and so relatable. I loved her quirks about writing lists for every situation because I do that too! If I don't have a good list with me then I can guarantee that nothing is going to get done, although luckily mine aren't as personal as Quinn's!


Her chemistry with Carter was so well done and I really enjoyed the journey from banter, to being friends to becoming more! Carter is definitely one of those guys who acts tough on the outside but is actually a super sweet softie. One of my favourite things about him was how sweet he was with his sister and how he always made sure to uplift Quinn at every opportunity.


I really enjoyed the themes of facing your fears and finding yourself throughout the book. Quinn is such an amazing role model and has become a forever inspiration of mine! I really didn't want to put this book down!


Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry is a story of friendship, trying new things and discovering yourself. A fantastic and cute read! If you like romance, you're going to LOVE this!


Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.

5 views0 comments