• Soph

Book Review: The Heir by Benet Stoen (ARC)

"Three rulers. Two sides. One plot for revenge. Welcome to the Kingdom of Lavdia.


In a village all but forgotten by the country’s rulers, Finn leads two lives. One of a simple country doctor, and the other of a smuggler with cargo of a rare variety: Wielders, a nearly extinct race of people born with the ability to control Magic. With their rights being threatened by the very people in power meant to protect them, the Wielders see Finn as their last chance for a better life. But when Finn is abducted and blackmailed into the service of a vengeful royal, his loyalty, and his heart, will be put to the ultimate test.


On a throne miles away, Andromeda, selected at birth to inherit the role of Mother Queen and continue her family’s royal line, has waited years for her chance to exact revenge on those who stole her freedom and tore her family apart. But she can’t do it alone. With the help of a handsome and intriguing young doctor, she will right the wrongs committed against her, and forge a path of a most gloriously scarlet retribution.


With the fate of their kingdom hanging in the balance, these two unlikely allies must navigate an intricate web of political rivalries and long-buried secrets in order to achieve their goals. But as hidden plots unfold and the true rot at the heart of the country is revealed, what starts as a quest for justice spirals into a desperate game of survival.


This first installment of an epic new trilogy from the author that brought you "His and Mine" will leave you breathless and haunted long after the final page is turned."


Pages: 323

I received The Heir by Benet Stoen for free by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much for this advanced copy! The Heir will be published on 14th July 2021.


I was immediately intrigued when I read the blurb for The Heir and as soon as I saw that it was a gender-bent Hades/Persephone retelling I knew I had to read it and spoiler alert for my review I am OBSESSED!

Our main character is Finn, a young doctor in a small town who is secretly helping 'Wielders' flee from the discriminatory country and find safe haven in a nearby sanctuary. One day he is summoned by the fearsome Queen Andromeda and is suddenly involved in a plot to bring down one of the most powerful and dangerous men in the country who is currently pulling the strings behind the royal family and behind the attacks on the magic users. Faced with a common enemy the Queen and Finn must work together to pull off their ruse or risk the lives of everyone.


The plot line was so engaging and interesting I had trouble putting the book down and literally read over half of it in one sitting! I was immediately swept up in the world and it is a true page turner. The characters were amazing and I love Andromeda so much! Her chemistry with Finn was so well done and it was definitely an excellent addition to the enemies to lovers trope!


Plus, the worldbuilding was absolutely SENSATIONAL! I really enjoyed the royal/political system throughout the book and thought it fit the plot line so well. It is the perfect read for fans of Queen of Coin and Whispers!


The Heir is definitely a new favourite for me and I am in desperate need for the sequel because OMG that ending!! I have adored every single minute of this story and I can't thank Benet Stoen enough for getting in touch and trusting me with this beautiful story! It has been a pleasure to review. The Heir is one of those special books where I got the immediate feeling that it is going to be a massive hit! A fantastic story with absolutely incredible writing and a subtle greek mythology influence - it HAS to be the next big bookstagram book! I'm sorry in advance for the person I'm about to become because I am NEVER going to stop talking about this book!


Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.

26 views5 comments