• Soph

Death in Vermilion - Barbara Elle (Book Blog Tour)

"A psychological thriller about murder among friends and enemies. 


Who can you trust?


Leila Goodfriend is laying down the bones of a painting. When interrupted by Iris, the noisy, unlikeable artist in the studio upstairs, Leila is distracted and annoyed.

When she discovers the racket was actually Iris' dead body hitting the floor, Leila becomes obsessed: Who murdered Iris?


The other Red Barn Cooperative artists — competitive, jealous and hypocritical — are prime suspects. They all hated Iris. “An artist owes his life to his art,” Iris said.

Iris was good for a laugh. But no one is laughing now.


In this gripping mystery, new author Barbara Elle paints a clever and twisted picture of women and sisters, whose lives are entwined by a brutal murder in a charming Cape Cod town.


Alibis fall apart. Plot twists multiply. And Leila comes to a dangerous conclusion."

Pages: 271

I received Death in Vermilion by Barbara Elle for free in exchange for an honest review as part of a book tour for Love Books Tours. Love Books Tours offer book tours, cover reveals, book blitzes and more! If you'd like to know more or join the host family then please check out their website, Twitter and Instagram! Death in Vermilion is available on Amazon and GoodReads.

In Death in Vermilion, our protagonist is Leila GoodFriend an artist who gets swept up investigating the suspicious death of her friend Iris. The only clues being the palette knife left in Iris' chest and a single word written in blood on the wall. Every person in her group of friends at the Red Barn Art Studios is a potential suspect and the key to catching the killer all comes to art.


Leila seems like a very friendly and nice character who is also very curious. She feels guilty as she was in the studio downstairs when Iris was murdered and she wonders whether she could have stopped it. Now she is intent on catching the killer so that she can give Iris some justice. She is determined, resourceful and not going to let anyone keep her off this case. Not even her own grumpy husband or the charming lead detective.


Throughout this process Leila starts to understand Iris more and discovers how much of a mystery she was. It turns out she kept a lot of secrets and she is more than just the eccentric hard worker that everyone knew her to be. I loved Iris' strange little quirks throughout the book for example she liked to paint like the "old masters" meaning painting by natural light only and she was always making loud noises in her studio so nobody had any cause for alarm when they heard the loud bang coming from her studio the night she was murdered.

Even more intriguing is the fact that the whole group have been receiving emails telling them to meet up at the scene of the crime. Somebody knows who the killer is, but who?


Death in Vermilion is a very clever and mind bending book and I loved the opportunity to learn more about different techniques of art! This is the perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars.

Barbara Elle can usually be found on her Twitter.


Thank you for reading my thoughts, you can also find me on my Twitter and Instagram! Let me know if you have any recommendations of what I should read next.

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

Book Blogger

  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com